In DUI defense a common question or problem involves the "ignition interlock device". The law on the ignition interlock device states that the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles "shall require the placement of a department-approved ignition interlock device for any person convicted of committing an offense of driving under the influence as specified".
In criminal and traffic defense, a common complaint from an accused individual or their family is that the arrest affidavit, arrest report, accident report or citation contains one or more errors. For example, if there is a DUI accusation with a child in the car but the officer marks on the DUI citation that there were no passengers under the age of 18 or marking "no injury" on a traffic ticket in a case involving a near fatality. (actual examples). The ugly truth is that the police, deputies and troopers filling out these documents are people too, and they make mistakes. Unfotunately, typographical or similar errors will usually not lead to a case being dismissed.
There are all kinds of urban myths in DUI / DWI law. In the context of a Florida DUI, a Florida appellate court has interpreted Florida law as allowing a conviction to a New York charge of driving while alcohol impaired (DWAI), section 1192 (1), to be used to enhance a Florida DUI. In addition, a conviction to a New York DWAI can be used for purposes of suspending a Florida driver's license. This strikes many as odd since the New York offense of DWAI is specifically not a DUI pursuant to New York law. Many people are surprised to learn that what one state does not consider a DUI is treated as such in Florida.
Arrested for DUI? Before going to court, a driver's license will be suspended 10 days after the DUI arrest if the person refused to give a breath sample or sumbmitted to the test and blew over a .08. As to the license to drive, there are three options (1) request a hearing to reverse the suspension called a Formal Review Hearing, (2) request hearing for an immediate hardship license or (3) do nothing. The choice to do nothing is a choice to accept a driver license suspension. The deadline to file an election for a hearing at the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) is also the same 10 day period before the suspension is imposed. The DUI citation is a driving permit for those same 10 days.
Arrested for DUI? Refusal to submit a sample of breath, blood or urine is a criminal offense in Florida if the person's license has been suspended in the past for refusing to submit to testing. An officer can request a driver to blow into the breath machine if a person is lawfully arrested. Unfortunately, officers will put people down as having 'refused' a breath test even when a person tries to blow. In the context of urine, stage fright will still be marked as a refusal.
A frustrating issue defending those accused of Driving Under the Influence or DUI, has been the lack of a definition of the word "impaired" in the standard jury instructions. Without a breath, blood or urine result or sample the State of Florida must prove that the person is "impaired" in order to convict a person of DUI. This is especially true if the accused is DUI by drugs or prescriptions. However, the Florida Supreme Court in issuing jury instructions has sought fit to leave the word "impaired" undefined.
A person can be convicted of DUI by prescription drugs. Some people do not realize that until it is too late. If you are reading this blog, then likely you or someone you know discovered the hard way that you can be arrested for DUI if impaired by any one of a long list of prescription drugs. In Florida, DUI stands for "Driving Under the Influence". The influence can be of alcohol or drugs that are illegal narcotics or prescriptions. A DUI can be a felony in Florida.
In some circumstances Driving Under the Influence of drugs or alcohol or DUI can be charged as a Felony DUI. DUI sometimes also referred to as DWI is an offense that can carry enhanced penalties both by the number of convictions and the severity of the bodily injury to another.
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles ("DHSMV") has jursidcition to suspend licenses for refusal to submit a breath sample, however their jurisdiction must be properly obtained. A person who is arrested for suspicion of Driving Under the Influence of drugs or alcohol ("DUI") in Florida will be asked to provide a sample of their breath by blowing into an Intoxilyzer 8000. If you refuse to blow, then your license will be suspended but you can challenge the suspension at an administrative hearing at the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles ("DHSMV"). There are several challenges that can be raised at a DMV hearing.
In DUI defense a common questions is "how do I avoid a DUI?" The answer is easy. If you drink don't drive and if you drive don't drink. The best way is to simply not drive to a drinking event. A taxi costs a heck of a lot less than a DUI attorney; it actually will cost you less than the court reporter. Depending on where you live, a taxi will run you less than the $25 is costs to file a request for a formal review hearing before the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The best way to avoid a DUI is to hire a taxi or ride share.