Whether "keep and bear" arms means to openly carry or carry at all has been debated. However, it is a criminal offense to open carry in Florida. As with most things in the law, there are exceptions. For example, if a person is engaged in or going to or from hunting, fishing, camping or on a target range, that person can openly carry. These exceptions are affirmative defenses. There is also the obvious cop exception. Recently, an appellate court decided whether Florida's prohibition on the open carrying of firearms was in violation of the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution.
In criminal cases a bond is an amount set by the court to allow a person to remain at liberty while their case is pending. There are several standard conditions of bond such as do not use illegal drugs and do not violate the law. The Court can set other conditions of pre-trial release such as curfew, day reporting and drug testing.
The criminal offense of Solicitation of Prostitution is a second degree misdemeanor. Normally, a second degree misdemeanor is punishable by a maximum of sixty (60) days and a five hundred dollar ($500) fine. However, effective 2013, the Florida legislature changed the fine for soliciting a prostitute to a mandatory five thousand dollar ($5,000) fine. According to this relatively new law, a judge has no discretion. The fine that is required to be imposed is five thousand dollars ($5,000).
Driving in violation of a driver license restriction can be a criminal offense in Florida. A violation of a work purposes only license or a violation of any license restricted due to a DUI conviction will result in criminal charges. Not all violations of driver license restrictions are crimes but all cases do have to be proven beyond a reasonable doubt.
As a practicing criminal defense lawyer it is never a dull day. Everyday new fact patterns arise such that you are much less subject to being surprised. An article in the Gainesville Sun brought my attention to a criminal law that I have never seen applied in such a fashion.
You received a traffic ticket for speeding, failure to yield, violation of a traffic control device, careless driving, or some other reason so now what? For some reason many people believe they must pay a citation within 30 days. While that is an option it is not necessarily a requirement.